No Cheese, please.

So this is going to be a different type post then what I normally post, but somehow I will try to tie it all in together.

I have been thinking about this post for a while, and the angrier I get about it, the more I want to write it. Ok let me explain, first let me say, I work at a restaurant. I usually get off late at night, and some nights after a busy shift, I don’t feel like cooking. I know everyone thinks that working at a restaurant, why not just eat the food there….or as some think, you must eat all night long. Working at an upscale, high-end, fine-dining restaurant…uhhm, no I don’t eat there. When they charge so much for fresh food, they don’t throw that our way often.

So anyways, after work I’m usually starving. So, on my way home I hit Wendy’s. The fast-food chain to order a burger. Normally I don’t like fast-food, and usually Wendy’s is the only one I will go to, but now I’m not so sure.

Have you seen their menu recently? There is not one burger on there that does not come without cheese, every single one has cheese. I guess they have a huge warehouse somewhere and a wrong order of 50 million cases of cheese arrived, and now they are just trying to get rid of it. They put cheese on everything.

So when I order, I have to order my burger, then say the “No cheese, please.” And pray they get it right, which by the way they never do. It gets to the point that some nights I get so frustrated, yelling at them, “No cheese!”

If you know me you know that’s not true, I don’t yell,….but I do when I leave and there is cheese on my burger. Some of you are thinking, why not order a hamburger? Well, I have tried that as well….and they say “The single?” and I say, “Yes, with no cheese.”

But still there is always cheese. So thank you for letting me rant about that….Now to tie it in.

Has anyone ever read your story, and said “Oh, it wasn’t what I was expecting” Or maybe some people are looking for an action book, and you try to sell them on your historical romance. Let people know exactly what they are getting when they are buying your books. Know your target audience, if they don’t like cheese….then by god, don’t give them cheese.

If you look at writing a book from a customer service aspect, and you see the things the people buying books want…then try to give them what they want. Yes, sometimes it is hard. I know I have over 5 million story ideas in my head at any given moment, so how do we know what everyone wants? Well, we do market analysis. We see what our demographic wants. If you are trying to sell a beachy romance at a sci-fi convention….chances are you won’t sell much. Know who your readers are, and better yet…know where they hang out.

Are you writing a book for children, then market it correctly, and search out mothers for your age range of your target audience.

If you are writing a romance, then don’t try marketing your book to a bunch of guys. Chances are they don’t want to read your book. ( I know some do, I’m saying generally)

Maybe at first you can try different genres to see which one sticks. Me personally, I write a few different genres, just basically seeing which one people want more of. If people respond better to my romance/mysteries. Then I know I must be marketing towards them. There is no right answer with marketing for the Indie Author, and sometimes it gets hard. But we all keep trucking along, hoping something will stick. Start by at least marketing to the right people.

Writing the book is the easy part, marketing, and knowing your target audience…well that is where it gets trickier. So be sure to go in with knowledge of what your readers want. And if they don’t want cheese….then don’t give it to them!!!

A little FYI: Sky Watcher has went to layout. The cover reveal is coming on July 10th, so stay tuned for that!! It’s a beautiful cover, and I can’t wait to show everyone.

I Am Atlas, is in editing, and hopefully looking at a late Sept. release.

I’m currently working on a project in which I will self-publish, hopefully by the end of July. It will come with a teaser prequel, which I think I could put out in about a week or so. Just waiting on my cover designer…haha.

I hope everyone had a great and safe fourth of July. Happy Independence Day, America.

Come follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Authorella

Come give me a like on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ellaemerson325

5 Comments Add yours

  1. KasimsKorner says:

    This was beyond an entertaining read. I had the most WTF face for the entire first few paragraphs. Well written article/story/thing haha. I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    1. Sure send them to my email ellaemerson325@gmail.com, or send me your questions.

      1. KasimsKorner says:

        My prologue is a stickied post on my blog http://www.kasimskorner.wordpress.com and would just appreciate any feedback if you have some spare time, if not thanks anyway and keep writing 🙂

      2. Sure, I will look it over. Thanks!

      3. KasimsKorner says:

        Thanks for taking the time to check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

