Literary Classics for Kids in a new upbeat style.

Are you struggling to get your kids interested in classics? What if the classics were engaging and in a comic book format? Now they are – the Illustrated Classics by Saddleback Educational Publishing! These literary masterpieces are made easy and interesting. This series features classic tales retold with color illustrations to introduce literature to struggling and reluctant readers. The 33 titles include classics such as Call of the Wild, Sherlock Holmes, Moby Dick, and the Red Badge of Courage just to name a few. Titles can be ordered separately or all 33 can be ordered together. http://www.sdlback.com/illustrated-classics-sample-set/

CalloftheWild_CVR.indd

Order Here

Amazing idea which is perfect for kids. I have strong feelings about this. I think every kid should have some understanding of the “classics”. And here is why….I once met someone who I worked with and it was sometimes hard for him to have a normal conversation with people. Now we didn’t sit around and discuss the classics all day long, but there are many times someone will say a quote, or a reference to a classic story, such as “May I have some more, please.” From Charles Dickens Oliver Twist. Or how many times has someone called somebody a scrooge. There are so many references that people just “know” and it is from knowing these stories. This guy I worked with just sat there in silence.

I like to have my kids well versed in many of the classics because it does impact society. Most movies now-a-days are based or are remakes of old classics. I think every Christmas they make a new “A Christmas Carol” type movie.

These stories are our history, they are what make us great. Children should not feel deprived because they haven’t read any. My kids are very interested in these books. Written in a graphic novel type format complete with pictures is amazing. You never know which book will spark a child’s interest or complete love for reading. For me it was “The Scarlet Letter”. From there I went onto reading every classic I could get my hand on. I loved them, and of course that later inspired me to write.

Every child deserves a collection like this. Why not give it to them!!! You never know your child could become the next Dickens, or Twain, or even J.K. Rowling!!!

Follow on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SDLBACK

Like on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sdlback

Be sure to check out their collection of GREAT classic books: http://www.sdlback.com/illustrated-classics-sample-set/

Keep Reading!!!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. heyitsmejoy says:

    I love this idea. How genius. Anything that gets kids to read and excited about books makes me happy

    1. Me too, I think it is fabulous what they are offering.

  2. Stephanie says:

    This is such a cool idea! I don’t have kids yet but this is the kind of books I want to see them grow up with, not the mumbo-jumbo most of them read right now. Don’t get me wrong, it’s amazing some kids still read with all the technology they are force-fed with just so they stay nice, but I want them to know the classics.

Leave a Reply

